Fate of the Rose: The Journey Begins

Ruby Darkness: Fate of the Rose

“I wondered how tragic his end was-if he suffered or went out easy, if he went first or last; if he really caused it or was simply a victim of circumstance. But the true thought that continued remolding itself in my head was how did we know each other?”

When Ruby James finds herself abandoned on Solly Avenue with only the distinct memory of headlights somewhere in the past. She must use the people and places around her to find her way back home. But home may be further away than she expected. Ruby must journey deep into her conscious self on an adventure through the unfamiliar city of Coelus, where nothing is as it seems. With the past beneath the surface, and threats lurking around every corner Ruby is on the hunt for the truth. Making friends and enemies along the way, will she piece the puzzle together and return to reality, before she runs out of time… Before the fate of the Rose.
image
Sitting in a chair on my front porch 2010, I thought to myself, What the hell happens to Ruby James? At this point in time, nothing had been written, not even the title. The story was only a twinkle in my eye. I thought to myslef, it has to be something dark. That’s when the title hit me. I didn’t think it would stick, but here we are. After the first chapter the charactes told the story, and it really is a mystery, mixed with fantasy, young adult genre. Admittedly so, any age would get lost in it. I know I did, several times. And just when you think you’ve got the first book figured out. You forgot the next one is coming in less than a year. I’ll be sure to keep you guessing. What fate has in store for Ruby James.

Don’t believe me, take it from a Smashwords review:

Review by: Lexie Snyder on Nov. 08, 2012 :
I downloaded this book on a whim, and ended up really enjoying in. This was a completely unique world that Leader created and I enjoyed the fast read. The tempo isn’t rushing, because this really has more to do with Ruby figuring out how to get home. However, you certainly won’t get bored because there is always something that Leader has you trying to figure out.

I enjoyed seeing the world through Ruby’s eyes, even if she was a little slow in putting the pieces together. I had already worked out the plot in my head before the book was even halfway over. However, I wasn’t the one in limbo trying to figure out what was going on, I was simply following all of the clues that Leader lays out for the careful reader. But it was still rewarding to see that everything I had guessed played out exactly the way I predicted. *silently bows* 🙂 Ruby’s biggest strength is her heart and willingness to always try and help people (even if it might not be expressed the best way) but that adds to her likability.

Leader drops several clues throughout the book about the Ruby’s destiny, and if I’m not mistaken also the destiny of the entire world and those she cares for-on both sides. The next book or books have a lot to live up to, but I don’t doubt that Leader is up to the task.

I’m definitely excited to read the next book, um now would be great Victoria…… 🙂

Go to Smashwords.com and get your copy today

Leave a Reply

